Dhtmlx 6 is a step back?

I’ve been using several versions of dhtmlx since 2014 and I immediately fell in love with it! Rich features combined with attention to detail and excellent documentation allowed me to easily and quickly create beautiful and functional interfaces for web applications.
Now when I came back after a short break and saw dhtmlx6 it puzzled me. The limited API combined with the poor documentation no longer makes it as easy to do what was possible in the previous version!
Maybe I do not understand something? Maybe philosophy of the product was completely changed? Can somebody tell me what’s going on? Can somebody give me a link where the new paradigm is explained in details and real examples with clear code are given? At this point I doubt if I will continue to work with old versions of the product or will completely abandon dhmlx. I have no other ideas to look at dhtmlx6 and it really upset me because it was a really great product.

1 Like

I feel you bro.
What I like with dhtmlx v6 is the interface the controls are very beautiful.
The downside is the lack of api, very few.

I wish they polish or put the form controls of dhtmlx v6 to dhtmlx5 that would be great.

I’d say it was a pretty significant shift in philosophy. It looks to me like they’re trying to move from a very Javascript/JQuery -heavy library to a lightweight library leveraging more CSS styling to accomplish what they were doing before, and unifying component data sets under a single object class to simplify data handling and manipulation instead of each component accomplishing similar tasks through its own interface functions. Unfortunately, that means a very massive overhaul of the entire library, and to keep things moving forward it looks like they’ve released a core library and are working to build it out to the level it was at before. That’s just going to take time, though, and that in turn is going to take patience from the users.