ExtJS/Sencha vs DHTMLX

I just wanted to share my experience here also to help you DHTMLX guys and also for other users wondering about this.

My background: I have been programming with BOTH ExtJS/Sencha and DHTMLX for the past 2 years and I’ve been programming in general for 25 years.

I recently decided to switch completely to DHTMLX because I got tired of updating two frameworks and skins, and making them work together, and I liked DHTMLX more. Reasons:

• Performance. I started with dhtmlxGrid because the ExtJS Grid was horribly slow, then used more and more dhtmlx components and always found professional, mature, speedy components.

• I found I was more productive with dhtmlx. APIs were simple, common tasks didn’t require many lines of code and a lot of head-scratching to accomplish everything.

• Smaller footprint. Faster load time.

DHTMLX at first lacked some components and functionality to be a complete GUI framework, but now I feel it is more than ready.

Don’t get me wrong. Sencha/Ext JS has its advantages and they seem to be pushing the boundaries with graphics lately. And if you need a framework that you want to extend and custom program a lot, then Sencha may be for you.

But I feel that it is over-engineered for most cases, as if doing things ‘correctly’ and making everything adhere to OOP and design patterns got priority over productivity and performance. I even tried to suggest functionality that makes more sense from a development point of view and they argued back with some kind of internal rule that made no sense.

In short, DHTMLX seems to have a better and more practical attitude for most cases where you need either individual web components or a straightforward web GUI framework. DHTMLX should be more recognized and I think you guys should point out the advantages I listed above.

I am evaluating sencha touch / dhtmlx touch.

In what sense you believe that sencha allows more customization and extentions that dhtml would not?