Newbie - Installation of Spreadsheet

Could someone please help out a newbie who is struggling a bit with the simplest of things? I am sure that I have made a simple error, but I am new to this and reading all the documentation hasn’t really helped me.

I am trying to install spreadsheet. I have downloaded the installation files into my /public-html/spreadsheet folder and after running index.php I have managed to get the required installation page up.

I have entered the fields as follows:
Database type = MySQL
Database host = localhost:3306
Database name = [as created in my MySQL page]
Prefix = [blank]
User = [as created in my SQL page]
Password [as created in my SQL page]

The server is definitely running PHP Software version: 5.1.66-cll - MySQL Community Server (GPL). However, I get the error messsage “Database connection is failed. Check database configuration” when I click on install.

Examination of my error log reveals this:
[Tue Apr 16 20:38:51 2013] [error] [client 144.136.81.21] File does not exist: /home/onon8374/public_html/404.shtml
[Tue Apr 16 20:38:51 2013] [error] [client 144.136.81.21] File does not exist: /home/onon8374/public_html/favicon.ico

Hi,
please, try to place on server file test.php with the follow code:

<?php

$conn = mysql_connect("localhost:3306", "username", "password");
mysql_select_db("databasename", $conn);

var_dump($conn);

mysql_close($conn);

?>

and open it in browser. Does it output correct connection or fail?
Don’t forget to change username, password, databasename in test.php with tour own credentials.

I opened the page using this script and I get a page which displays:

resource(1) of type (mysql link)

I am a little unfamliar with all of this. Does this sound right?

Hi,
yes, it sound good, database connection is correct. But something is wrong during installing.